EFCC arrests 13 suspected oil thieves in Lagos

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, has commenced investigation of 13 suspected oil thieves and a vessel, MT SWEET MIRI, handed over to the Commission by the Nigerian Navy NNS Beecroft, Apapa, Lagos State.

The suspects are: Abu Smith, Pascal Anyafulu, David Ali, Mba Okpanu, Chukuma Friday Obiazi, Miye Victor and Richard Kofi.

Others are: Monday Aidenagbon, Dele Olayemi, Boma Robinson, David George, Onos Edemefe and Suleiman Aremu.

The vessel and the crew were intercepted and arrested on February 27, 2024, by officers of the Nigerian Navy for alleged illegal oil bunkering and Automatic Identification system, AIS, infractions.

READ ALSO: Nimbo killings: Gov Mbah says govt will track down attackers

The vessel was laden with about 1,322 metric tonnes of substance “confirmed to bear the attributes of crude oil without any document permitting her to be in possession of the substance.”

Receiving the crew members, vessel and product on April 24, 2024, Moses Awolusi, Head, Extractive Industry Fraud Section, EIFS, assured the Navy that the suspects and the exhibits would be subjected to further investigations and prosecution.

He also commended the Navy for its collaboration with the EFCC and the good working relationship both agencies had enjoyed over the years.

The suspects, according to the agency woul be charged to court as soon as investigations were concluded.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *