NUJ honours outstanding individuals, corporates @ Awards Nite

Award recipients at the NUJ Gala/Award Night with NUJ Vice President B Zone, Mrs. Ronke Samo and NUJ Chairman Lagos Council Mr. Adeleye Ajayi


Media entrepreneurs, journalists, as well as guests converge on Lagos to grace the 2023 Gala/Awards Nite of the Nigeria Union of Journalists, Lagos State Council at the Combo Hall of Lagos Television (LTV) on Friday.

Chairman, Nigeria Union of Journalists, NUJ, Lagos Council, Mr. Adeleye Ajayi, set the tone for the night.

He said: “I humbly welcome you all to this year’s edition of our Gala/Awards Nite, one of the major events of our Annual Press Week.

“It is an occasion for us to recall our major landmarks, roll out the drums, celebrate excellence and wine and dine with the awardees, invited guests, senior colleagues and colleagues.

“It is a day we tell ourselves that all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.

“This is the third in the series of Press Week that this administration ably led by my humble self will be celebrating,” Ajayi added.

Giving a goodwill message, the Queen of Apomu Land, Her Royal Majesty Olori Janet Afolabi, an accomplished award winning Journalists, media trainer and publisher advised Journalists to report more on the happenings at the grassroots as many people at that level are suffering and their plight needs to be reported to elicit positive response from appropriate quarters.

READ ALSO:Nigeria Customs Service to partner NUJ on service delivery

Delving into the main business for the night, the music band thrilled the audience with soothing songs as the NUJ Awards presentation got underway.

Accompanied by dignitaries and well wishers to the stage, the awardees took turn to receive their Awards.

The first category of award recipients were individuals who have written their names in gold as a result of their giant strides and accomplishments.

Senator Mukhail Abiru, of Lagos East senatorial district, Adewale Adedeji, of Ifako-Ijaiye Constituency 01, Lagos State House of Assembly and Mr. Fola Adeyemi, former Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Information and Strategy, Lagos State made the list.

Other Award recipients were Mr. Kehinde Bamigbetan, former Honourable Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Lagos State, and Prof. Hussaini Ibrahim, Director General, Raw Materials Research and Development Council, RMRDC.

The Second category of the awards celebrated Corporate Organisations of note such as Airtel Networks Nigeria Limited Nigerian Breweries Plc, and Dangote Group.

READ ALSO:Nigerians must collaborate for nation-building says Elumelu

Reacting to the Awards on behalf of the Corporate Organisations, Mr. Francis Awowole-Browne of Dangote Group said the Awards were given to organisations that have performed well in key areas.

He pledged the endless commitment and support of the organisation to activities of Nigeria Union of Journalists.

On his part, Mr. Fola Adeyemi, who spoke on behalf of individual Award recipients lauded NUJ Lagos Council for deeming it fit to honour them as a result of their achievements.

He commended NUJ for living up to expectations and for sustaining the dynamism of unionism in the State.

“Journalists should continue to fight for the masses and the oppressed in the society,” he advised.

The Gala Nite was also attended by the South West leaders of the NUJ, ably led by the Vice President, B Zone, Mrs. Ronke Samo.

Other dignitaries in attendance included Deputy-Comptroller, Nigeria Customs Service, Haniel Hadison; General Manager, Radio Lagos/Eko FM, Mr. Jide Lawal; General Manager, Lagos Traffic Radio, Mr Eyitayo Akanle; and Olori Adesola Kosoko, General Manager, Lagos Television, including Elders and Leaders of the Union amongst others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *