Service Chiefs nomination confirmed by Senate

Senate on Thursday at plenary confirmed the appointment of Service Chiefs, nominated by President Bola Tinubu.

Tinubu had in a letter to President of Senate, Sen. Godswill Akpabio and read at plenary on Tuesday, sought approval of the Senate to confirm the service chiefs, in line with Section 18 (1) of the Armed Forces Act, 2004.

The Service Chiefs confirmed include Rear Admiral  Emmanuel Ogalla as Chief of Naval Staff, Air Vice Marshal Hassan Abubakar as the Chief of Air Staff and Major General Emmanuel Undiandeye Chief of Defence Intelligence.

Others were Major General Christopher Musa as Chief of Defence Staff, CDS, and Major General Taoreed Lagbaja as Chief of Army Staff.

READ ALSO:Charge Emefiele to court or release him, court tells DSS

The confirmation of the service chiefs was sequel to the consideration and approval of a motion by Senate Majority leader, Sen. Opeyemi Bamidela (APC-Ekiti).

Before their confirmation, the service chiefs took turn to highlight their career profile and professional experiences.

Maj.-Gen. Musa, nominee for the Chief of Defence Staff, earlier pledged the commitment of the Armed Forces to serve Nigerians in line with the dictates of the Constitution.

On his part, Rear Admiral Ogalla, nominee for Chief of Naval Staff, said he would put in his best to upgrade the standard he met, assuring Nigerians that he was fully prepared for the job.

Also, AVM Hassan Abubakar , nominee for Chief of Air Staff, said he would mobilise the nation’s air power to ensure peace and security of the country, in line with the aspiration of the president.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: